Texas Hands-Free Driving Laws Aim To Prevent Distracted Driving Accidents
Distracted driving is dangerous driving, and more municipalities in Texas are choosing to enact hands free driving laws with the intent of reducing cell phone caused car accidents. Dialing, texting or sending an e-mail – any use of your cell phone while driving can start a chain reaction that leads to a deadly crash. The attorneys at McCraw Law Group want you to know the research behind distracted driving and the laws in Texas. Over 40 Texas cities now have a hands-free driving law that aim to prevent distracted driving accidents.
Cell Phone Distractions
Cell phones are a distraction to drivers. Operating a motor vehicle requires full-time concentration on the road and the activity around you. Taking your eyes and mind away from these tasks puts you and others at risk. The cell phone distraction problem is a national issue. The U.S Government developed Distraction.gov to inform drivers of the serious consequences that come with distracted driving. Some key facts and statistics include:
- In 2014, 3,179 people were killed and over 400,00 injured in a motor vehicle crash involving distracted drivers.
- As of December 2014, 169.3 billion text messages were sent in the US every single month. How many while driving?
- The percentage of drivers text-messaging or visibly manipulating handheld devices increased from 2013 to 2014. Drivers are not getting the message.
- At any given moment during daylight hours, approximately 600,000 drivers are using cellphones while driving.
- How long does it take to send a text? Your eyes are off the road for an average of 5 seconds. At 55 mph, that is enough time to cover a football field. Blindfolded.
The statistics are staggering. American drivers – Texas drivers – continue to choose cell phones over safety. Distracted drivers are negligent drivers, and should be held accountable for the harm caused to others.
Texas Hands-Free Driving Laws
Drivers who use cell phones in their vehicle have a higher risk of collision than drivers who don’t. Although Texas has no statewide ban on the use of cell phones, many local areas prohibit their use with fines that range from $200 to $500. The Texas Department of Transportation has a list of every city with a hands free driving ordinance. Some of the major Texas cities include Austin, Corpus Christi, El Paso, and San Antonio. View the full list at http://www.txdot.gov/driver/laws/cellphones.html.
I Was Injured by a Distracted Driver – Now What?
If a distracted driver has injured you, the accident attorneys at McCraw Law Group want to hear more. Our attorneys are experienced in holding negligent drivers accountable for their actions. You should be compensated for your injuries, time away from work, and pain and suffering. Contact the McCraw Law Group today to speak with our accident attorney team. Cell phones and driving don’t mix in Texas.